La Kantera Pro Weekend Full Recap!

Great day of skateboarding on the first day of the Euskaltel La Kantera Pro presented by Volcom.

For the very first time the contest hosted a women division, and Yndiara Asp qualified first for Saturdays finals, with some tricks that some Pros would like to get in their bag.

A bunch of legends such as Nicky Guerrero and Omar Hassan signed up in Masters division and local host Alain Goikoetxea made his debut in this category with qualifying in first, destroying his home park like only him knows how to.

In the Pro division, qualifiers went down and the action didn t stop, skaters battled for 9 spots to join the 7 invited pros of the Saturday semifinals (Grant Taylor, CJ Collins, Kalle Berglind, Ivan Federico, Danny Leon, Robin Bolian andRune Glifberg).

Unfortunately young sensation Marcel Cama didn t make the cut as well as Swedish smooth operator Aron Buzas, see full results below.

The day ended with big concerts for all and competitors BBQ behind the ruins to keep the vibes high.

With a solid crew consisting of Grant Taylor, CJ Collins, Omar Hassan, Alain Goikoetxea, Rune Glifberg, Robin Bolian, Vincent Matheron, Colin Provost, Caswell Berry, Axel Cruysberghs, Victor Pellegrin, Jamie Lynn, Volcoms sales rep Txufo or little rookie Marcel Cama, the Volcom team kept the vibes up and the spirits high in the pool, chairs, comentators booth, judging chair or late night in the afterparties mayhem.

This event was all about the fun, sharing the good times with the locals and the heavy lineup of competitiors. Of course, some pool annihilation went down.

For the first time, womens were invited to join the fun, and they all had a blast, with Brasilian Yndiara Asp taking the win and a sweet 4000€. In Masters, legend Nicky Guerrero show some of the younger ones how its done.

And an action packed Pro division, at only 13 years of age, young Californian CJ Collins stole the show in front of past event winners Danny Leon and Kalle Berglind and flew home with a 12000€ prize purse...

Check out the full contest results below

Thanks to everyone that joined us, to all the locals and people who worked on the event, to the city of Getxo and Euskaltel.

All photos from Daniel Cabral and Vincent Coupeau.

Check finals replays, Day 1 recap and photo story after the results.


PRO DIVISION (with some Ams in but who really cares in the end? Skateboard federations?)

1 CJ Collins (USA) 12000€

2 Danny Leon (Spain) 5000€

3 Kalle Berglind (Sweden) 3000€

4 Robin Bolian (France) 2000€

5 Ivan Federico (Italy) 1500€

6 Jaime Mateu (Euskadi) 1200€

7 Jacob Welsh (USA) 1000€

8 Jordan Thackeray (UK) 900€

9 Ian Campbell (Euskadi) 800€

10 Sox Watkins (UK) 700€

11 Simon Karlsson (Sweden) 600€

12 Grant Taylor (USA) 500€

13 Philip Eidenborg (Sweden) 400€

14 George Poole (France) 300€

15 Rune Glifberg (Denmark) 200€

16 Yago Dominguez (Euskadi) 100€


1 Yndiara Asp (Brasil) 4000€

2 Amelia Brodka (Poland) 1800€

3 Chloé Bernard (France) 800€

4 Paula Flores (Spain) 700€

5 Catherine Marquis 5germany) 600€

6 Iraia Escobar (Euskadi) 500€

7 Idoia Casas (Euskadi) 300€

8 Erica Caballero (Euskadi) 200€


Aron Buzas (Sweden) 1000€ fs noseblunt on the Deathbox, yes that really happened.